Perfect Remains by Helen Fields

31143801

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.

In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness.

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.

It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.

Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer. 

3.5/5 Stars!

It’s been sooo very long since I read a thriller! I mean I read Sleeping beauties but it was not so thrilling so I’m blocking it out xD.

Perfect Remains is creepy and twisty. The name is so fitting and I love that too. We get two POV’s. The first is the new Detective Inspector who has just arrived to Scotland, the country his Dad was from that he hasn’t lived in for years, having to be transferred from France for *reasons*

The second is the Killers POV. I loved that I knew who done it from the beginning and I was just waiting and cheering for the characters to catch on/overcome their jailer, the clues and how the case unfolded wasn’t what I was expecting and I liked that it wasn’t as predictable as so Crime fiction can be, especially as it didn’t have the killer reveal to keep people page turning just the process on how he will be found. 

The first half of the book is a little slow and one of the biggest reasons I docked this from a 4/5 rating. D.I Luc is getting settled/being hated by his team after the rumors of why he left France spread throughout the precinct, he’s making one friend and looking at crime scenes trying to piece together what seems like an impossible case with very little evidence.  

Untitled.png

Another plus was the lack of romance! I love me some steamy scenes but in the middle of a gruesome murder case it may have taken away from the task at hand, just a bit.

There is a lot of murder and the serial killer is a creepy, evil, bastard who is ugh so well written and so disturbing.

D.I Luc is an unlikable character. At least to me, which was disappointing. I found him over-confident and a dick more often then not which didn’t really get any sympathy from me. I did really enjoy his team, Ava the other detectives we see through out the story. I would love a book with her POV rather than Luc’s.

The writing is easy to read overall and I flew through this, the only problem I have is I felt some scenes didn’t flow well making the plot a little disjointed. We move from a talking scene straight to some random skydiving scene? What, why? Oh Luc’s a skydiver and needed to release some steam… oookaaay. I actually had to check I didn’t miss a page because I had no idea how the character was just suddenly doing that with no previous background that he liked to sky dive, I needed a map I was so lost.

Overall the main character while unlikable had an interesting team and case, the plot held my attention and I am excited to continue reading more of this series.

Have you read Perfect Remains? Are you planning too? Do you read much Crime Fiction? Who’s your fave author in the genre? 

My fave crime fiction author is Karen Rose and man does she release so many books! I think I’m four books behind on her latest series and desperately need to binge and catch up.

Thank you Harper Colins for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Perfect Remains by Helen Fields

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s